Phaidon

Freedom

SKU: 9780714893693

€ 65

The struggle of black Americans has been going on since the mid-XNUMXth century and plays a fundamental role in establishing the political, historical and cultural values ​​of contemporary America.

FREEDOM! is the historic cry, against slavery, against segregation and against social injustice of thousands of people who arrived in chains from Africa by boat as early as the 600th century. The book that bears this name brings together XNUMX images, mainly in black and white, of decades photographed by anonymous or famous photographers, witnesses or defenders of the black cause.

Organized in 5 chronological chapters retracing long pivotal periods, FREEDOM makes it possible to document and understand the advances and setbacks of black history, inextricably linked to the North American continent one: the period from 1840 to 1880 shows the slaves' living conditions, then the abolition of slavery, from 1880 to 1919, migrations to the city and social inequality still existing, from 1919 to 1954, urbanization and the great depression, from 1954 to 1975, the great movements for civil rights and finally from 1975 to the present day, the maintenance of the struggle and the hope.

FREEDOM is a sumptuous book, which stands out as a reference, as an illustrated and complete book on a still topical subject that we now embrace at a single glance, thanks Sophie Spencer Wood's work, photo editor at Phaidon. Manning Marable and Leith Mulling are the two authors of the remarkable introduction, chapters, captions and timeline in the appendix. Black American and committed the cause themselves, they are respectively a historian, professor at Columbia University and an anthropologist at the Graduate Center of the City of New York.

Softback
French
512 pages
29 x 26 x 5,5 cm
2003

We ship all over the world.

All our packages are delivered within 24 hours (Chronopost Domicile or Point Relais / DHL)

Our shipping costs include:
- delivery within 24 hours
- preparation and packaging. We take great care in preparing your orders: each item is carefully wrapped in gift wrap (ready to be offered if it is a gift)
- samples offered for each order.

OUR SHIPPING TIMES:

- For any order placed from Monday to Friday before 16 p.m., the order will be shipped the same day.
- Orders placed after 16 p.m. are shipped the next day.
- Orders placed on weekends are shipped the following Monday.
- For any order placed on public holidays, the order will be shipped the following working day.

FREE SHIPPING :

For deliveries in mainland France, shipping costs are free from € 90 (Colissimo).

Express 24h Chronopost FRANCE delivery: The products are shipped in Chronopost 24h with signature for France. An email with your Chronopost tracking number will be sent to you as soon as the package is shipped.

48h delivery Colissimo FRANCE: The products are shipped by Colissimo 48h with signature for France. An email with your Colissimo tracking number will be sent to you as soon as the package is shipped.

EUROPE AND INTERNATIONAL: the packages are shipped by Chronopost or DHL express delivery depending on the destination.

IMPORTANT: The payment of all customs duties and taxes depends on the destination country and only the buyer will be responsible.. BIUTIFUL recommend the buyer to check the country's customs tax information before ordering.

RETURNS: You have the option of returning one or more items to us for fourteen days, at your expense, from the delivery of your order, except syrups and honey, earrings, beauty products, nail polish and make-up.

You may also like

Products Viewed

Phaidon

Freedom

SKU: 9780714893693

€65

La lutte des Noirs américains a cours depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle et joue un rôle fondamental dans l'établissement des valeurs politiques, historiques et culturelles de l'Amérique contemporaine.

FREEDOM! est le cri historique, poussé contre l'esclavage, contre la ségrégation et contre l'injustice sociale de milliers de personnes arrivées enchaînées d'Afrique par bateau dès le XVIIe siècle. Le livre qui porte ce nom rassemble 600 images, principalement en noir et blanc, de décennies photographiées par des anonymes ou des photographes célèbres, témoins ou défenseurs de la cause noire.

Ordonné en 5 chapitres chronologiques retraçant de longues périodes charnières, FREEDOM permet de documenter et de comprendre les avancées et les reculs de l'histoire noire, indéfectiblement liée à celle du continent nord-américain : la période de 1840 à 1880 présente les conditions de vie des esclaves, puis l'abolition de l'esclavage, celle de 1880 à 1919, les migrations vers la ville et l'inégalité sociale perdurant, celle de 1919 à 1954, l'urbanisation et la grande dépression, celle de 1954 à 1975, les grands mouvements pour les droits civiques et enfin de 1975 à nos jours, le maintien de la lutte et l'espoir.

Somptueux ouvrage, FREEDOM s'impose comme une référence, en tant que livre illustré et complet sur un sujet toujours d'actualité que l'on embrasse désormais d'un seul regard, grâce au travail de Sophie Spencer Wood, éditrice photo chez Phaidon. Manning Marable et Leith Mulling sont les deux auteurs de la remarquable introduction, des chapitres, des légendes et de la chronologie en annexe. Eux-mêmes noirs américains et engagés, ils sont respectivement historien, professeur à Columbia University et anthropologue au Graduate Center of the City of New York.

Broché
Français
512 pages
29 x 26 x 5,5 cm
2003

Nous expédions partout dans le monde.

Tous nos colis sont livrés en 24h (Chronopost Domicile ou Point Relais / DHL)

Nos frais de port comprennent :
- la livraison en 24h
- la préparation et l'emballage. Nous apportons un grand soin à la préparation de vos commandes : chaque article est soigneusement emballé dans un papier cadeau (prêt à être offert s'il s'agit d'un cadeau)
- des échantillons offerts pour chaque commande.

NOS DÉLAIS D’EXPÉDITION :

– Pour toute commande passée du lundi au vendredi avant 16h, la commande sera expédiée le jour-même.
– Les commandes passées après 16h sont expédiées le lendemain.
– Les commandes passées le week end sont expédiées le lundi suivant.
– Pour toute commande passée les jours fériés, la commande sera expédiée le jour ouvré suivant.

FRAIS DE PORT OFFERTS :

Pour les livraisons en France métropolitaine, les Frais de port sont offerts à partir de 90€ (Colissimo).

Livraison Express 24h Chronopost FRANCE : Les produits sont expédiés en Chronopost 24h avec signature pour la France. Un email avec votre n° de suivi Chronopost vous sera envoyé dès que le colis est expédié.

Livraison 48h Colissimo FRANCE : Les produits sont expédiés en Colissimo 48h avec signature pour la France. Un email avec votre n° de suivi Colissimo vous sera envoyé dès que le colis est expédié.

EUROPE ET INTERNATIONAL : les colis sont expédiés en livraison express Chronopost ou DHL selon les destinations.

IMPORTANT : Le paiement des tous les droits de douane et taxes dépend du pays de destination et seul l'acheteur en sera responsable. BIUTIFUL recommande à l'acheteur de vérifier les informations relatives aux taxes douanières du pays avant de passer commande.

RETOURS : Vous avez la possibilité de nous retourner un ou plusieurs articles pendant quatorze jours, à vos frais, à compter de la livraison de votre commande, sauf sirops et miel, boucles d'oreilles, produits de beauté, vernis à ongles et maquillage.

A découvrir également

Produits Consultés