Norma Editions

Matali Crasset - Works

SKU: 9782915542455

70€
An innovatively designed monograph on the work of Matali Crasset, one of France’s leading product designers. The book retraces her last twenty years of career. Ranging from simple items to architecture, Matali Crasset's work engages its end users by asking questions, like a sociologist would, on the role design plays in their everyday lives and human interactions.

A graduate of Ateliers-ENSCI in 1991, Matali Crasset has kept her interest in new technologies from time she's spent with designer Denis Santachiara. Once she came back to Paris, she has worked for five years with Philippe Starck, becoming Tim Thom's manager, the integrated design structure of the Thomson Multimedia company. Then in 1996, the VIA gave her free rein to create her home furniture project called W at Hôm.

Her house-workshop, which she set up in 1998 in Belleville in the middle of small gardens in a former printing works, is conducive to reflection and research. She creates transformable items offering original solutions hailed by critics for their functional, poetic, imaginary and recreational character. Among the innumerable creations, we can cite: the hospitality column Quand Jim monte à Paris or the sofa play area Permis de construire pour Domeau & Pérès; the metal structures and removable Table Trays & Shelves for Aiki; the Ierace pendant lamp for Artemide; the suspension Evolute pour Danese; the psyche and the lantern Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend for Meta/Mallett; the “furnished” Open Room n°1 for Established & Sons; the Guest Room for Campeggi; the pastry ustencils Essentiel de pâtisserie for Alessi.

Matali Crasset's projects follow one another and branch out according to the encounters. She works with actors as distinct as the hotelier who wants to develop a new concept (Hi hotels in Paris and in Nice or Dar Hi in Nefta, Tunisia), the museum which wishes to transform itself (SM's in s'Hertogenbosch in the Netherlands ), or even the Department of Cultural Affairs of Bourgogne which wants to place contemporary chandeliers in the Saint-Bénigne cathedral in Dijon.

Matali Crasset finds in exhibitions a space for reflection and experimentation different from industrial design and multiplies the opportunities to collaborate with artists, in particular Peter Halley with “Nature morte à habiter” at the Thaddaeus Ropac gallery where she exhibits regularly. She creates many scenographies for private companies, Hermès, Première Vision, or for institutions, the Mobilier national, the Biennale de Saint-Étienne, the Salon de Montrouge.

French
24 x 28 cm
300 pages
700 color illustrations
bound in dust jacket
We ship all over the world.

All our packages are delivered within 24 hours (Chronopost Domicile or Point Relais / DHL) or in 48 hours by Colissimo Domicile with Signature

Our shipping costs include:
- delivery in 24h or 48h
- preparation and packaging. We take great care in preparing your orders: each item is carefully wrapped in gift wrap (ready to be offered if it is a gift)
- samples are offered for each order.

OUR SHIPPING TIMES:

– For any order placed from Tuesday to Friday before 15 p.m., the order will be shipped the same day.
- Orders placed after 15 p.m. are shipped the next day.
– Orders placed on weekends are shipped the following Tuesday.
- For any order placed on public holidays, the order will be shipped the following working day.

FREE SHIPPING :

For deliveries in mainland France, shipping costs are free from € 90 (Colissimo).

Express 24h Chronopost FRANCE delivery: The products are shipped in Chronopost 24h with signature for France. An email with your Chronopost tracking number will be sent to you as soon as the package is shipped.

48h delivery Colissimo FRANCE: The products are shipped by Colissimo 48h with signature for France. An email with your Colissimo tracking number will be sent to you as soon as the package is shipped.

EUROPE AND INTERNATIONAL: the packages are shipped by Chronopost or DHL express delivery depending on the destination.

IMPORTANT: The payment of all customs duties and taxes depends on the destination country and only the buyer will be responsible.. BIUTIFUL recommend the buyer to check the country's customs tax information before ordering.

RETURNS: You have the option of returning one or more items to us for fourteen days, at your expense, from the delivery of your order, except syrups and honey, earrings, beauty products, nail polish and make-up.

You may also like

Products Viewed

Editions Norma

Matali Crasset - Works

SKU: 9782915542455

€70
Cette première monographie consacrée à Matali Crasset retrace les vingt dernières années du parcours d’une des créatrices les plus renommées du design international. De l’objet à l’architecture, le travail de Matali Crasset interroge à la manière d’un sociologue le rôle du design dans la vie quotidienne et redéfinit les modes d’usage, les modes de vie et les interactions humaines.

Diplômée des Ateliers-ENSCI en 1991, Matali Crasset garde de son passage chez le designer italien Denis Santachiara un intérêt pour les nouvelles technologies. Dès son retour à Paris, elle développe cette expérience de design électronique lorsqu’elle collabore pendant cinq ans avec Philippe Starck, devenant responsable de Tim Thom, la structure de design intégrée de la société Thomson Multimedia, et en 1996 lorsque le VIA lui donne carte blanche pour son projet de mobilier domestique informatique W at Hôm.

Sa maison-atelier, qu’elle installe en 1998 à Belleville au milieu de petits jardins dans une ancienne imprimerie, est propice à la réflexion et à la recherche. Elle y crée des objets souvent transformables proposant des solutions originales saluées par la critique pour leur caractère fonctionnel, poétique, imaginaire et récréatif. Parmi les innombrables réalisations, on peut citer : la colonne d’hospitalité Quand Jim monte à Paris ou le canapé-aire de jeux Permis de construire pour Domeau & Pérès ; les structures en métal et les plateaux amovibles Table Trays & Shelves pour Aiki ; la suspension Ierace pour Artemide ; la suspension Evolute pour Danese ; la psyché et la lanterne Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend pour Meta/Mallett ; l’espace « meublé » Open Room n° 1 pour Established & Sons ; la Chambre d’ami pour Campeggi ; la collection d’ustensiles de pâtisserie Essentiel de pâtisserie pour Alessi.

Les projets de Matali Crasset se succèdent et se ramifient au gré des rencontres. Elle travaille avec des acteurs aussi distincts que l’hôtelier qui veut développer un nouveau concept (hôtels Hi à Paris et à Nice ou Dar Hi à Nefta en Tunisie), le musée qui souhaite se métamorphoser (SM’s à s’Hertogenbosch aux Pays-Bas), ou encore la Direction des affaires culturelles de Bourgogne qui veut placer des lustres contemporains dans la cathédrale Saint-Bénigne de Dijon.

Matali Crasset trouve dans les expositions un espace de réflexion et d’expérimentation différent du design industriel et multiplie les occasions de collaborer avec des artistes, notamment Peter Halley avec « Nature morte à habiter » à la galerie Thaddaeus Ropac où elle expose régulièrement. Elle réalise de nombreuses scénographies pour des sociétés privées, Hermès, Première Vision, ou pour des institutions, le Mobilier national, la Biennale de Saint-Étienne, le Salon de Montrouge.

Français
24 x 28 cm
300 pages
700 illustrations couleur
relié sous jaquette
Nous expédions partout dans le monde.

Tous nos colis sont livrés en 24h (Chronopost Domicile ou Point Relais / DHL) ou en 48h en Colissimo Domicile avec Signature

Nos frais de port comprennent :
- la livraison en 24h ou 48h
- la préparation et l'emballage. Nous apportons un grand soin à la préparation de vos commandes : chaque article est soigneusement emballé dans un papier cadeau (prêt à être offert s'il s'agit d'un cadeau)
- des échantillons offerts pour chaque commande.

NOS DÉLAIS D’EXPÉDITION :

– Pour toute commande passée du mardi au vendredi avant 15h, la commande sera expédiée le jour-même.
– Les commandes passées après 15h sont expédiées le lendemain.
– Les commandes passées le week end sont expédiées le mardi suivant.
– Pour toute commande passée les jours fériés, la commande sera expédiée le jour ouvré suivant.

FRAIS DE PORT OFFERTS :

Pour les livraisons en France métropolitaine, les Frais de port sont offerts à partir de 90€ (Colissimo).

Livraison Express 24h Chronopost FRANCE : Les produits sont expédiés en Chronopost 24h avec signature pour la France. Un email avec votre n° de suivi Chronopost vous sera envoyé dès que le colis est expédié.

Livraison 48h Colissimo FRANCE : Les produits sont expédiés en Colissimo 48h avec signature pour la France. Un email avec votre n° de suivi Colissimo vous sera envoyé dès que le colis est expédié.

EUROPE ET INTERNATIONAL : les colis sont expédiés en livraison express Chronopost ou DHL selon les destinations.

IMPORTANT : Le paiement des tous les droits de douane et taxes dépend du pays de destination et seul l'acheteur en sera responsable. BIUTIFUL recommande à l'acheteur de vérifier les informations relatives aux taxes douanières du pays avant de passer commande.

RETOURS : Vous avez la possibilité de nous retourner un ou plusieurs articles pendant quatorze jours, à vos frais, à compter de la livraison de votre commande, sauf sirops et miel, boucles d'oreilles, produits de beauté, vernis à ongles et maquillage.

A découvrir également

Produits Consultés