inter

Dancehall - The Rise Of Jamaican Dancehall Culture

€ 44

Dancehall - The Rise Of Jamaican Dancehall Culture

This study of the 1980s Jamaican dancehall scene features hundreds of exclusive photographs and accompanying text that capture a vibrant, globally influential and yet rarely documented culture that has blended music, fashion and lifestyle since its inception.

With unprecedented access to the incredibly exciting music scene during this period, Beth Lesser's photographs and text are a unique way into a previously hidden culture. Dancehall is at the center of Jamaican musical and cultural life. From its roots in Kingston in the 1950s to its heyday in the 1980s, Dancehall has conquered the globe, spreading to the USA, UK, Canada, Japan, Europe and beyond.

This jam-packed visual history tells the story from its roots to its heights from the vantage of the true, respected insider. In the early 1980s, as Jamaica was in the throes of political and gang violence, Beth Lesser ventured where few others dared, and this book is a never-before-seen record of the exciting, dangerous world of Dancehall.

The album is a spectacular compilation of dancehall music classics but also a fantastic selection of slightly darker tracks. With artists like Yellowman, Tenor Saw, Sister Nancy, Ini Kamoze, Chaka Demus & Pliers, Michigan & Smiley, Super Cat, Cutty Ranks, Eek AMouse, Gregory Isaacs and more, the album features tracks that make you dance. more than one.

This book has become the sole literary reference in Jamaican dancehall culture, including hundreds of incredible shots, interviews and artist stories.

English
Softback
215 pages
30 x 30 x 2 cm


We ship all over the world.

All our packages are delivered within 24 hours (Chronopost Domicile or Point Relais / DHL) or in 48 hours by Colissimo Domicile with Signature

Our shipping costs include:
- delivery in 24h or 48h
- preparation and packaging. We take great care in preparing your orders: each item is carefully wrapped in gift wrap (ready to be offered if it is a gift)
- samples offered for each order.

OUR SHIPPING TIMES:

- For any order placed from Monday to Friday before 15 p.m., the order will be shipped the same day.
- Orders placed after 15 p.m. are shipped the next day.
- Orders placed on weekends are shipped the following Monday.
- For any order placed on public holidays, the order will be shipped the following working day.

FREE SHIPPING :

For deliveries in mainland France, shipping costs are free from € 90 (Colissimo).

Express 24h Chronopost FRANCE delivery: The products are shipped in Chronopost 24h with signature for France. An email with your Chronopost tracking number will be sent to you as soon as the package is shipped.

48h delivery Colissimo FRANCE: The products are shipped by Colissimo 48h with signature for France. An email with your Colissimo tracking number will be sent to you as soon as the package is shipped.

EUROPE AND INTERNATIONAL: the packages are shipped by Chronopost or DHL express delivery depending on the destination.

IMPORTANT: The payment of all customs duties and taxes depends on the destination country and only the buyer will be responsible.. BIUTIFUL recommend the buyer to check the country's customs tax information before ordering.

RETURNS: You have the option of returning one or more items to us for fourteen days, at your expense, from the delivery of your order, except syrups and honey, earrings, beauty products, nail polish and make-up.

You may also like

Products Viewed

inter

Dancehall - The Rise Of Jamaican Dancehall Culture

€44

Dancehall - The Rise Of Jamaican Dancehall Culture

Cette étude de la scène dancehall jamaïcaine des années 1980 présente des centaines de photographies exclusives et un texte d'accompagnement qui capturent une culture vibrante, mondialement influente et pourtant rarement documentée qui mélange musique, mode et style de vie depuis sa création.

Avec un accès sans précédent à la scène musicale incroyablement excitante au cours de cette période, les photographies et les textes de Beth Lesser sont un moyen unique d'entrer dans une culture auparavant cachée. Le dancehall est au centre de la vie musicale et culturelle jamaïcaine. De ses racines à Kingston dans les années 1950 à son apogée dans les années 1980, le Dancehall a conquis le monde, s'étendant aux États-Unis, au Royaume-Uni, au Canada, au Japon, en Europe et au-delà.

Cette histoire visuelle pleine à craquer raconte l'histoire de ses racines à ses sommets. Au début des années 1980, alors que la Jamaïque était en proie à la violence politique et des gangs, Beth Lesser s'est aventurée là où peu d'autres ont osé, et ce livre est un album inédit du monde passionnant et dangereux du Dancehall.

L’album est une compilation spectaculaire des classiques de la musique dancehall mais également une fantastique sélection de morceaux un peu plus sombres. Avec des artistes comme Yellowman, Tenor Saw, Sister Nancy, Ini Kamoze, Chaka Demus & Pliers, Michigan & Smiley, Super Cat, Cutty Ranks, Eek AMouse, Gregory Isaacs et bien plus encore, l’album contient des titres qui en font danser plus d’un.

Ce livre est devenu l’unique référence littéraire de la culture du dancehall Jamaïcain, incluant des centaines de clichés incroyables, interviews et récits d’artistes.

Anglais
Broché
215 pages
30 x 30 x 2 cm


Nous expédions partout dans le monde.

Tous nos colis sont livrés en 24h (Chronopost Domicile ou Point Relais / DHL) ou en 48h en Colissimo Domicile avec Signature

Nos frais de port comprennent :
- la livraison en 24h ou 48h
- la préparation et l'emballage. Nous apportons un grand soin à la préparation de vos commandes : chaque article est soigneusement emballé dans un papier cadeau (prêt à être offert s'il s'agit d'un cadeau)
- des échantillons offerts pour chaque commande.

NOS DÉLAIS D’EXPÉDITION :

– Pour toute commande passée du lundi au vendredi avant 15h, la commande sera expédiée le jour-même.
– Les commandes passées après 15h sont expédiées le lendemain.
– Les commandes passées le week end sont expédiées le lundi suivant.
– Pour toute commande passée les jours fériés, la commande sera expédiée le jour ouvré suivant.

FRAIS DE PORT OFFERTS :

Pour les livraisons en France métropolitaine, les Frais de port sont offerts à partir de 90€ (Colissimo).

Livraison Express 24h Chronopost FRANCE : Les produits sont expédiés en Chronopost 24h avec signature pour la France. Un email avec votre n° de suivi Chronopost vous sera envoyé dès que le colis est expédié.

Livraison 48h Colissimo FRANCE : Les produits sont expédiés en Colissimo 48h avec signature pour la France. Un email avec votre n° de suivi Colissimo vous sera envoyé dès que le colis est expédié.

EUROPE ET INTERNATIONAL : les colis sont expédiés en livraison express Chronopost ou DHL selon les destinations.

IMPORTANT : Le paiement des tous les droits de douane et taxes dépend du pays de destination et seul l'acheteur en sera responsable. BIUTIFUL recommande à l'acheteur de vérifier les informations relatives aux taxes douanières du pays avant de passer commande.

RETOURS : Vous avez la possibilité de nous retourner un ou plusieurs articles pendant quatorze jours, à vos frais, à compter de la livraison de votre commande, sauf sirops et miel, boucles d'oreilles, produits de beauté, vernis à ongles et maquillage.

A découvrir également

Produits Consultés